Skip to content

Onto Pathfinder

September 12, 2013

The Marvel Heroic Roleplaying campaign turned out to be a short one. The group added some new players and there was a general consensus for some D&D-style killing & looting. As I’ve become disenchanted with the mechanics-heavy, “simulationist”-driven 3e style of D&D, and enchanted with so-called “storygames,” I investigated some more recent alternatives. I was intrigued by DungeonWorld and 13th Age, but in the end, we decided to go with Pathfinder. A couple of players wanted to run Kingmaker, and I figured that running a published adventure path would reduce most of the workload that the system places on the DM. And it would just be easier to use the rules that the AP were written for.

The first session ended up reminding me of just how much I’ve come to dislike 3e/PF, though. It took about 3 hours to create characters, and some weren’t even finished at the end of it. I had gotten used to using HeroLab to build characters, so I think I had forgotten just how many numbers there were to compute.

But we eventually did get started, and fun was seemingly had by all, so I suppose I can’t complain too much…

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

