Skip to content

And Now For Something Completely Different

February 16, 2017

Aside from RPGs, one of my big hobbies is superhero comics. I’ve fallen in and out of the industry over my lifetime, but the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying game brought me back into the fold and I haven’t left since. I was pretty active on the publisher’s message boards, where I posted my “Spider-Man actual play reports” along with lots of character writeups. But then those message boards suddenly disappeared and I lost almost all of the writing I had posted there. I still kick myself at times for not having backups of almost all that work.

The other day I realized I had a good amount of writing posted on other message boards that was also not backed up, and that I should do something about that. Not that I’m expecting those boards to vanish overnight, but you never know – it’s happened to me before! And not that WordPress is any more under my control, but I can at least create a backup of this blog pretty easily. So I will be moving some of that writing over to this blog so that I can save it.

Anyway, I got rid of my physical comics a long time ago. When I came back, I discovered Marvel Unlimited, a subscription service that gives one access to the company’s digital library. The most recent stuff is not included, so I’m always about 6 months behind whatever is currently being published, but the archives of older comics are pretty extensive. And so I started to explore old runs that I half-remembered from my youth, or characters that I didn’t know much about. One of those was Marvel’s original Captain Marvel.

The good Captain debuted in the late 1960’s in order to grab the trademark for the name (previous held by the character many know as Shazam!), but the title struggled and floundered and was even cancelled a few times. Eventually a young artist/writer named Jim Starlin (creator of Thanos, along with a lot of other characters that are important to the “cosmic” side of Marvel) got his hands on the book, had some success, and then gave the character cancer and killed him off in the very first “graphic novel.” Over 30 years later, it’s one of those rare comic book deaths that’s actually stuck.

What follows is a “where I read” (WIR) series of Captain Marvel’s humble beginnings that will eventually culminate in his death. If you like old superhero comics, or if you like bad superhero comics, you might get a kick out the synopses. And if you don’t, well, the RPG posts are still coming, too.

Next: the coming of Captain Marvel!

One Comment
  1. Oh yeah. Even I’m familiar with the ‘Marvel Dead’ concept. :-/

Leave a Reply

